Topic: Annoying Problem Exiting Gnome

Hello All,

I am yet another refugee from freebsdfourms.org.  I've been out of the *nix game for quite some time and with my recent purchase of a  Lenovo T61 I decided it was time to remedy that.  I have a little experience but I have found it much lacking.  This is my first attempt to use FreeBSD 7.0 on a desktop and I have found that I have plenty of little problems everywhere that are highly annoying.  The first and foremost is that I cannot exit gnome using either the GUI gnome exit application from the menu or by executing "gnome-session --kill" from a terminal.  I've been CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACING to get out of Gnome.  When I try to exit using either the provided GUI or the by executing the gnome-session --kill command in the terminal I don't get any sort of error back.  It just seems to hang.

This is the closest thing to an error I can find:

May 11 16:10:56 thinkpad console-kit-daemon[901]: GLib-CRITICAL: g_hash_table_destroy: assertion `hash_table != NULL' failed
May 11 16:10:58 thinkpad gnome-keyring-daemon[969]: couldn't allocate secure memory to keep passwords and or keys from being written to the disk

A little googling hasn't turned up anything useful.  It appears that both the errors are "inconsequential".  Anyway, if anyone has any advice on tracking this down I would appreciate it because I also have to fix my video drivers, apci, about a million port upgrade errors, crappy un-anti-aliased fonts... and so on.  What fun!

Thanks!

Re: Annoying Problem Exiting Gnome