Topic: Why use *BSD?

Hi guys, just trying to get more activity on these forums. I think they're great.

Anyways, I was just wondering why you all use BSD?

Currently I am using FreeBSD-7.0 as my desktop OS. Prior I had Archlinux, and prior to that I had Slackware (Can you see the progression? ;p).
I'm not really a hardcore computer-user. I'm only a programmer by hobby. I do run a few services, but only things like my personal website. Nothing big or serious. I suppose I enjoy FreeBSD on more of an intellectual/philosophical level than a practical one (granted, I find FreeBSD very easy, practical, and intuitive).

How about you guys?

Re: Why use *BSD?

I have had similar road:
Slackware (with KDE) --> Gentoo (with Fluxbox) --> FreeBSD (mostly Fluxbox) <--> OpenSolaris

Most of the things I know about UNIX I learned on FreeBSD because it was clean, simple and well documented, also community support was very good.

I do not want to talk Linux kernel bloat and mess again as I did that many times before wink

"religions, worst damnation of mankind"
[color=Blue]Linux is not UNIX! Face it! It is not an insult. It is fact: GNU is a recursive acronym for

i like pf and other features that openbsd has.

freebsd is super-fast and clean, just as i like it. smile

Unter certain conditions it's the best, in the end 'it sucks less'.

F!XMBR

Freedom is the sure possession of those alone who have the courage to defend it. --Pericles

I haven't used BSD on my desktop for a while because it's more practical to me to be running OS X right now (both due to the hard I have, a MacBook, and that I don't really have time to be messing around with silly stuff like Flash not working so well).

OpenBSD still runs on my router/firewall though, and has been for a couple of years. I wouldn't consider putting anything else on there. pf rules and I know BSD networking fairly well.