Topic: "re1: watchdog timeout" screwing up my attempts to build a home router

I'm running OpenBSD 4.3-STABLE on a Commell LE-565.  It has 4 x Realtek RTL8110S-32 gigabit ethernet controllers.  They all appear as reX.

I'm using re0 to connect to Netgear DM111P ADSL2+ modem which I've configured to use RFC 2684 (formerly 1483) Bridged Ethernet over ATM.  This part of my OpenBSD router is working without a hitch.

I'm using re1 as the interface which my home network plugs into.

My linux laptop connects to the OpenBSD router on re1 without a hiccup but it keeps getting disconnected when the OpenBSD router reports "re1: watchdog timeout".  This happen around every 5-10 seconds.  It's really annoying.  I'm new to all this networking stuff and, yes, I've read the FAQ.  I'm still new to OpenBSD so I would really appreciate any suggestions.  Is there any way I can stop the annoying "re0: watchdog timeout"?

I've set up /etc/dhcpd.interfaces as:

re1

My /etc/dhcpd.conf is:

subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
option routers 192.168.0.1;
option domain-name "shagbag.net";
option domain-name-servers 87.194.0.51, 87.194.0.52;
range 192.168.0.2 192.168.0.254;
}

/etc/rc.conf.local includes:

dhcpd_flags=""
pf=YES

/etc/sysctl.conf includes:

net.inet.ip.forwarding=1

and, for what it's worth, my /etc/pf.conf is:

ext_if="re0"
int_if="re1"
tcp_services="{ 22, 113 }"
icmp_types="echoreq"
set block-policy return
set loginterface $ext_if
set skip on lo
scrub in
nat on $ext_if from !($ext_if) -> ($ext_if:0)
nat-anchor "ftp-proxy/*"
rdr-anchor "ftp-proxy/*"
rdr pass on $int_if proto tcp to port ftp -> 127.0.0.1 port 8021
block in
pass out keep state
anchor "ftp-proxy/*"
antispoof quick for { lo $int_if }
pass in on $ext_if inet proto tcp from any to ($ext_if) port $tcp_services flags S/SA keep state
pass in inet proto icmp all icmp-type $icmp_types keep state
pass quick on $int_if

Last edited by Shagbag (2008-10-25 15:51:39)