Topic: Anyone have NetBSD 5.0 running on a Desktop system?

I'm trying to set up NetBSD 5.0 as a usable desktop with multimedia, nice X setup, etc.
How many people have done this successfully? It seems that it takes a LONG time, especially for someone new to BSD like me (I have plenty of experience with Linux). I've been working through the NetBSD guide for several house over the last two days.

Feedback please. I'm wondering if I'm wasting my time.

I can't get pkg_add to work. It freezes on the "get" step of the ftp transaction.
I can't get sup to work. It says "SUP: Can't find my host entry 'machine0' "

Thanks,

G

Re: Anyone have NetBSD 5.0 running on a Desktop system?

I haven't used NetBSD since 4, but maybe you should give FreeBSD a try. It may be a bit easier.

But, it sounds like your network isn't active or you haven't configured your system correctly to use pkg_add or sup.

Maybe you should post the command line you used for pkg_add as I recall you need to feed it the repository to look at if you haven't set up the conf file correctly.

"An educator never says what he himself thinks, but only that which he thinks it is good for those whom he is educating to hear."
-Nietzsche

if i were to install something besides windows on my thinkpad t61, it would certainly be netbsd 5.0.

I'm using it on my Acer Extensa 4620 (dual boot with Xp), and it works well until now (but need some tunes - i'll do it when i have time):
for now :
- Xorg from base system (less than one hour installation);
- others packages from pkgsrc (pkg downloading is too long) : mplayer, moc, development tools;
- can write on NTFS filesystems using ntfs-3g.

Hi,
I'm now using NetBSD 5.1 RC3 on a HP Pavilion DV6 2140ef, and the following pkgs from pkgsrc 2010Q2: modular Xorg, jwm, XFCE, and KDE 4.
However, I have some problems with :
- my hardware : my wifi card is not recognized, an 'Intel Advanced AGN 6200', and so is my GC nVidia GeForce GT 320 (I use VESA driver)